skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
All Senators / Laws Enacted

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 115th Congress, including via incorporation into other bills. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

All Senators
most laws
#1 21 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#2 19 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 17 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#4 11 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#4 11 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#4 11 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#7 10 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#8 9 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN, 2003-2020]
#9 8 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#9 8 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#9 8 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#9 8 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#13 7 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#13 7 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#13 7 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#13 7 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#13 7 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#13 7 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#19 6 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#19 6 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#19 6 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO, 2015-2020]
#19 6 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#19 6 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS, 1997-2020]
#19 6 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#25 5 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#25 5 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#25 5 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#25 5 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#25 5 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#25 5 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA, 2015-2020]
#25 5 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#25 5 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#25 5 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#25 5 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#35 4 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#35 4 Sen. Michael “Mike” Crapo [R-ID]
#35 4 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#35 4 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#35 4 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#35 4 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#35 4 Sen. John Kennedy [R-LA]
#35 4 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#35 4 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#35 4 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#35 4 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#35 4 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#35 4 Sen. Todd Young [R-IN]
#48 3 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#48 3 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#48 3 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#48 3 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#48 3 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#48 3 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#48 3 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#48 3 Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
#48 3 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#48 3 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#48 3 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#48 3 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#48 3 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#48 3 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#48 3 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#48 3 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#64 2 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#64 2 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#64 2 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#64 2 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#64 2 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY, 1997-2020]
#64 2 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#64 2 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#64 2 Sen. Doug Jones [D-AL, 2018-2020]
#64 2 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#64 2 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#64 2 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#64 2 Sen. Benjamin “Ben” Sasse [R-NE]
#64 2 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#64 2 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#78 1 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#78 1 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#78 1 Sen. Christopher Coons [D-DE]
#78 1 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#78 1 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#78 1 Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith [R-MS]
#78 1 Sen. Angus King [I-ME]
#78 1 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#78 1 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#78 1 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#78 1 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#78 1 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#78 1 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#78 1 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#78 1 Sen. Tina Smith [D-MN]
#78 1 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#94 0 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#94 0 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#94 0 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#94 0 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#94 0 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM, 2009-2020]
#94 0 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
Export to CSV...

The legislator must be the primary sponsor of the bill or joint resolution that was enacted or the primary sponsor of a bill or joint resolution for which at least about one third of its text was incorporated into another bill or joint resolution that was enacted as law, as determined by an automated analysis. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively. We also exclude bills where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.