skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
All Senators / Ideology Score

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Ideology Score

Our unique ideology analysis assigns a score to Members of Congress according to their legislative behavior by whether they sponsor and cosponsor overlapping sets of bills and resolutions with other Members of Congress. The score can be interpreted as a left—right scale measuring the dominant ideological difference or differences among Members of Congress, although of course it only takes into account a small aspect of reality.

All Senators
most politically right
#1 1.00 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#2 0.98 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#3 0.97 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#4 0.97 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#5 0.96 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#6 0.95 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#7 0.95 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#8 0.95 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#9 0.94 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#10 0.93 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#11 0.93 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#12 0.92 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#13 0.92 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#14 0.92 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#15 0.91 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#16 0.90 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#17 0.89 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#18 0.89 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#19 0.88 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#20 0.87 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#21 0.87 Sen. John Kennedy [R-LA]
#22 0.87 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#23 0.86 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#24 0.85 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#25 0.85 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#26 0.84 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#27 0.84 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#28 0.84 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#29 0.83 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#30 0.83 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#31 0.82 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#32 0.82 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#33 0.80 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#34 0.78 Sen. Todd Young [R-IN]
#35 0.78 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#36 0.78 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#37 0.77 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#38 0.76 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#39 0.76 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#40 0.74 Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith [R-MS]
#41 0.74 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#42 0.74 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#43 0.73 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#44 0.73 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#45 0.72 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#46 0.71 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#47 0.70 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#48 0.68 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#49 0.68 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#50 0.65 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#51 0.61 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#52 0.58 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#53 0.56 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#54 0.54 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#55 0.53 Sen. Angus King [I-ME]
#56 0.52 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#57 0.51 Sen. Doug Jones [D-AL]
#58 0.48 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#59 0.46 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#60 0.44 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#61 0.42 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#62 0.41 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#63 0.32 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#64 0.32 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#65 0.32 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#66 0.32 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#67 0.31 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#68 0.29 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#69 0.28 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#70 0.27 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#71 0.26 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#72 0.25 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#73 0.24 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#74 0.24 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#75 0.23 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#76 0.23 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#77 0.22 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#78 0.21 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#79 0.19 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#80 0.19 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#81 0.19 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#82 0.18 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#83 0.17 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#84 0.17 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#85 0.16 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#86 0.16 Sen. Tina Smith [D-MN]
#87 0.15 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#88 0.15 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#89 0.14 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#90 0.13 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#91 0.13 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#92 0.12 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#93 0.12 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#94 0.10 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#95 0.09 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#96 0.05 Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
#97 0.03 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#98 0.01 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#99 0.00 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. Although we do not report a margin of error, the scores fluctuate significantly over time because of the limited data used in the analysis. An ideology score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills or who have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in the 115th Congress is considered, the ideology score here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.