skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Ideology Score

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Ideology Score

Our unique ideology analysis assigns a score to Members of Congress according to their legislative behavior by whether they sponsor and cosponsor overlapping sets of bills and resolutions with other Members of Congress. The score can be interpreted as a left—right scale measuring the dominant ideological difference or differences among Members of Congress, although of course it only takes into account a small aspect of reality.

House Freshmen
most politically right
#1 0.90 Rep. Ron Wright [R-TX6]
#2 0.82 Rep. Gregory Steube [R-FL17]
#3 0.82 Rep. Steven Watkins [R-KS2]
#4 0.77 Rep. Ross Spano [R-FL15]
#5 0.76 Rep. Denver Riggleman [R-VA5]
#6 0.75 Rep. Mark Green [R-TN7]
#7 0.74 Rep. Guy Reschenthaler [R-PA14]
#8 0.74 Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK1]
#9 0.74 Rep. John Joyce [R-PA13]
#10 0.73 Rep. Dan Crenshaw [R-TX2]
#11 0.72 Rep. Lance Gooden [R-TX5]
#12 0.71 Rep. Jim Hagedorn [R-MN1]
#13 0.70 Rep. Michael Waltz [R-FL6]
#14 0.69 Rep. Pete Stauber [R-MN8]
#15 0.68 Rep. James Baird [R-IN4]
#16 0.66 Rep. Michael Guest [R-MS3]
#17 0.66 Rep. Carol Miller [R-WV3]
#18 0.65 Rep. Ben Cline [R-VA6]
#19 0.65 Rep. Daniel Meuser [R-PA9]
#20 0.63 Rep. Tim Burchett [R-TN2]
#21 0.63 Rep. Anthony Gonzalez [R-OH16]
#22 0.62 Rep. Dusty Johnson [R-SD0]
#23 0.62 Rep. William Timmons [R-SC4]
#24 0.62 Rep. Kelly Armstrong [R-ND0]
#25 0.61 Rep. Greg Pence [R-IN6]
#26 0.60 Rep. Van Taylor [R-TX3]
#27 0.60 Rep. Bryan Steil [R-WI1]
#28 0.59 Rep. Chip Roy [R-TX21]
#29 0.59 Rep. Russ Fulcher [R-ID1]
#30 0.57 Rep. John Rose [R-TN6]
#31 0.55 Rep. Jefferson Van Drew [R-NJ2]
#32 0.55 Rep. Fred Keller [R-PA12]
#33 0.55 Rep. Gregory Murphy [R-NC3]
#34 0.53 Rep. Anthony Brindisi [D-NY22]
#35 0.53 Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN3]
#36 0.52 Rep. Joe Cunningham [D-SC1]
#37 0.50 Rep. Cynthia Axne [D-IA3]
#38 0.48 Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA7]
#39 0.47 Rep. Kendra Horn [D-OK5]
#40 0.47 Rep. Dan Bishop [R-NC9]
#41 0.45 Rep. Ben McAdams [D-UT4]
#42 0.44 Rep. Jared Golden [D-ME2]
#43 0.43 Rep. Xochitl Torres Small [D-NM2]
#44 0.42 Rep. Abby Finkenauer [D-IA1]
#45 0.42 Rep. Elaine Luria [D-VA2]
#46 0.41 Rep. Josh Harder [D-CA10]
#47 0.41 Rep. Colin Allred [D-TX32]
#48 0.41 Rep. Max Rose [D-NY11]
#49 0.40 Rep. Mikie Sherrill [D-NJ11]
#50 0.40 Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ3]
#51 0.40 Rep. Greg Stanton [D-AZ9]
#52 0.40 Rep. Antonio Delgado [D-NY19]
#53 0.39 Rep. Angie Craig [D-MN2]
#54 0.39 Rep. Susie Lee [D-NV3]
#55 0.38 Rep. Elissa Slotkin [D-MI8]
#56 0.38 Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA6]
#57 0.38 Rep. Lizzie Fletcher [D-TX7]
#58 0.36 Rep. Sharice Davids [D-KS3]
#59 0.35 Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI11]
#60 0.34 Rep. Chris Pappas [D-NH1]
#61 0.34 Rep. Harley Rouda [D-CA48]
#62 0.33 Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO6]
#63 0.32 Rep. David Trone [D-MD6]
#64 0.31 Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ7]
#65 0.31 Rep. TJ Cox [D-CA21]
#66 0.31 Rep. Lucy McBath [D-GA6]
#67 0.31 Rep. Gilbert Cisneros [D-CA39]
#68 0.31 Rep. Kim Schrier [D-WA8]
#69 0.29 Rep. Michael San Nicolas [D-GU0]
#70 0.29 Rep. Joe Neguse [D-CO2]
#71 0.29 Rep. Lauren Underwood [D-IL14]
#72 0.28 Rep. Mike Levin [D-CA49]
#73 0.27 Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA7]
#74 0.27 Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY25]
#75 0.26 Rep. Jennifer Wexton [D-VA10]
#76 0.26 Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA3]
#77 0.25 Rep. Donna Shalala [D-FL27]
#78 0.25 Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL6]
#79 0.24 Rep. Katie Porter [D-CA45]
#80 0.24 Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX16]
#81 0.23 Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell [D-FL26]
#82 0.22 Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA4]
#83 0.21 Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX29]
#84 0.20 Rep. Mary Scanlon [D-PA5]
#85 0.18 Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI9]
#86 0.16 Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT5]
#87 0.09 Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D-NY14]
#88 0.08 Rep. Jesús García [D-IL4]
#89 0.08 Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI13]
#90 0.07 Rep. Debra Haaland [D-NM1]
#91 0.07 Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN5]
#92 0.06 Rep. Ayanna Pressley [D-MA7]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. Although we do not report a margin of error, the scores fluctuate significantly over time because of the limited data used in the analysis. An ideology score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills or who have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in 2019 is considered, the ideology score here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.