skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2019.

House Sophomores
most bills
#1 867 Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA1]
#2 781 Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD8]
#3 700 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#4 644 Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL9]
#5 559 Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY13]
#6 510 Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY3]
#7 443 Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA7]
#8 441 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#9 409 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#10 352 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#11 349 Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE0]
#12 346 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#13 335 Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL8]
#14 330 Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD4]
#15 316 Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL13]
#15 316 Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL5]
#17 287 Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL1]
#18 283 Rep. Val Demings [D-FL10]
#19 282 Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ5]
#20 275 Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE2]
#20 275 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#22 264 Rep. Tom O’Halleran [D-AZ1]
#23 258 Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC5]
#24 252 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#25 240 Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL4]
#26 232 Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC13]
#27 229 Commish. Jenniffer González-Colón [R-PR0]
#28 227 Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV4]
#28 227 Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL7]
#30 217 Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL18]
#31 216 Rep. Roger Marshall [R-KS1]
#32 215 Rep. Debbie Lesko [R-AZ8]
#33 212 Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA17]
#33 212 Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA4]
#35 183 Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN3]
#36 182 Rep. Troy Balderson [R-OH12]
#37 175 Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI8]
#38 173 Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ5]
#39 170 Rep. Paul Mitchell [R-MI10]
#40 158 Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT0]
#41 142 Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL19]
#42 137 Rep. John Curtis [R-UT3]
#43 122 Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA11]
#44 120 Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL2]
#45 118 Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI1]
#45 118 Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
#47 112 Rep. Mike Johnson [R-LA4]
#48 107 Rep. Ron Estes [R-KS4]
#48 107 Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA3]
#50 101 Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN8]
#51 99 Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX27]
#52 91 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#52 91 Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA3]
#54 80 Rep. Liz Cheney [R-WY0]
#55 72 Rep. Trey Hollingsworth [R-IN9]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.