skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2019.

House Sophomores
most cosponsors
#1 732 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#2 657 Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ5]
#3 588 Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA7]
#4 545 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#5 500 Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA4]
#6 451 Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD4]
#7 417 Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY13]
#8 401 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#9 365 Rep. Tom O’Halleran [D-AZ1]
#10 357 Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA1]
#11 341 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#12 315 Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI1]
#13 251 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#14 243 Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL8]
#15 241 Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL13]
#16 213 Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI8]
#17 204 Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN3]
#18 201 Rep. Mike Johnson [R-LA4]
#19 199 Rep. Roger Marshall [R-KS1]
#20 194 Rep. Paul Mitchell [R-MI10]
#21 193 Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL19]
#22 188 Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL9]
#23 186 Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL5]
#24 172 Rep. Ron Estes [R-KS4]
#25 170 Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD8]
#26 167 Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY3]
#27 161 Rep. Liz Cheney [R-WY0]
#28 157 Rep. Trey Hollingsworth [R-IN9]
#29 147 Rep. Val Demings [D-FL10]
#30 145 Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA17]
#31 143 Commish. Jenniffer González-Colón [R-PR0]
#32 140 Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL18]
#33 136 Rep. John Curtis [R-UT3]
#34 134 Rep. Debbie Lesko [R-AZ8]
#35 119 Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC5]
#36 113 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#37 100 Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN8]
#38 99 Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE2]
#39 93 Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL4]
#40 92 Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL7]
#41 83 Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ5]
#42 82 Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA11]
#43 78 Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC13]
#44 55 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#45 48 Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX27]
#46 44 Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE0]
#47 42 Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA3]
#48 41 Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV4]
#49 34 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#50 30 Rep. Troy Balderson [R-OH12]
#51 14 Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL1]
#52 9 Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL2]
#52 9 Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT0]
#54 5 Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA3]
#55 4 Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.