skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Ohio Delegation / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2019.

Ohio Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 372 Rep. Ryan [D-OH13]
#2 360 Rep. Beatty [D-OH3]
#3 325 Rep. Stivers [R-OH15]
#4 291 Rep. Latta [R-OH5]
#5 277 Rep. Kaptur [D-OH9]
#6 268 Rep. Joyce [R-OH14]
#7 160 Rep. Fudge [D-OH11]
#8 158 Rep. Chabot [R-OH1]
#9 115 Rep. Gibbs [R-OH7]
#10 80 Rep. Davidson [R-OH8]
#11 60 Rep. Gonzalez [R-OH16]
#12 50 Rep. Wenstrup [R-OH2]
#13 44 Rep. Johnson [R-OH6]
#14 33 Rep. Turner [R-OH10]
#15 30 Rep. Balderson [R-OH12]
#16 0 Rep. Jordan [R-OH4]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.