skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Joining Bipartisan Bills

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Joining Bipartisan Bills

In this era of partisanship, it is encouraging to see Members of Congress working across the aisle. This is the percent of bills cosponsored by each legislator which were introduced by a member of the other party.

Senate Democrats
most often
#1 58.5% Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#2 55.8% Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#3 50.3% Sen. Doug Jones [D-AL]
#4 42.8% Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#5 36.5% Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#6 36.0% Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#7 35.6% Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#8 33.9% Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#9 33.2% Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#10 32.9% Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#11 32.1% Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#12 31.4% Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#13 31.2% Sen. Jacky Rosen [D-NV]
#14 29.4% Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#15 28.7% Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#16 28.3% Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#17 27.9% Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#18 26.4% Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#19 26.0% Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#20 25.6% Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#21 25.3% Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#22 24.7% Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#23 23.8% Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#24 23.8% Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#25 23.8% Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#26 23.4% Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#27 23.4% Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#28 23.3% Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#29 23.2% Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#30 22.2% Sen. Tina Smith [D-MN]
#31 22.1% Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#32 21.6% Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#33 21.4% Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#34 21.3% Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#35 21.0% Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#36 20.4% Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#37 20.3% Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#38 18.4% Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#39 18.3% Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#40 18.3% Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#41 18.0% Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#42 17.7% Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#43 17.2% Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#44 14.9% Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#45 14.9% Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
Export to CSV...

Only Democratic and Republican Members of Congress who cosponsored more than 10 bills and resolutions are included in this statistic.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.