skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2019.

Senate Democrats
most cosponsors
#1 984 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 609 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#3 593 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#4 587 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#5 551 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#6 531 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#7 525 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#8 520 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#9 474 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#10 451 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#11 448 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#12 445 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#13 430 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#14 417 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#15 407 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#16 404 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#17 377 Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
#18 376 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#19 369 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#20 366 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#21 364 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#22 360 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#23 317 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#24 274 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#25 269 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#26 258 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#26 258 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#28 255 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#29 223 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#30 221 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#31 216 Sen. Tina Smith [D-MN]
#32 207 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#33 204 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#34 198 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#34 198 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#36 194 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#37 183 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#38 181 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#39 162 Sen. Doug Jones [D-AL]
#40 153 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#41 131 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#42 130 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#43 102 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#44 89 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#45 70 Sen. Jacky Rosen [D-NV]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.