skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2019.

Senate Republicans
most bills
#1 361 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#2 281 Sen. Kevin Cramer [R-ND]
#3 272 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#4 271 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#5 239 Sen. Marsha Blackburn [R-TN]
#6 235 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#7 231 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#8 229 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#9 223 Sen. Mike Braun [R-IN]
#10 221 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#11 219 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#12 213 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#13 211 Sen. Todd Young [R-IN]
#14 202 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#15 197 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#16 192 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#17 191 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#18 190 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#19 186 Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith [R-MS]
#20 183 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#21 173 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#22 163 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#23 162 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#24 160 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#25 159 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#25 159 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#27 154 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#28 153 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#28 153 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#30 152 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#30 152 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#32 151 Sen. Rick Scott [R-FL]
#33 149 Sen. John Kennedy [R-LA]
#34 141 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#35 140 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#36 139 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#37 136 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#38 132 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#39 130 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#40 127 Sen. Joshua Hawley [R-MO]
#41 125 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#42 107 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#43 106 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#44 105 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#45 102 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#46 88 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#47 86 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#48 84 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#49 83 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#50 75 Sen. Mitt Romney [R-UT]
#51 63 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#52 41 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#53 24 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.