skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2019.

Senate Republicans
most cosponsors
#1 598 Sen. Rubio [R-FL]
#2 514 Sen. Collins [R-ME]
#3 485 Sen. Cornyn [R-TX]
#4 364 Sen. Grassley [R-IA]
#5 349 Sen. Murkowski [R-AK]
#6 339 Sen. Graham [R-SC]
#6 339 Sen. Portman [R-OH]
#8 290 Sen. Blunt [R-MO]
#9 271 Sen. Barrasso [R-WY]
#10 267 Sen. Lee [R-UT]
#11 260 Sen. Toomey [R-PA]
#12 251 Sen. Thune [R-SD]
#13 232 Sen. Wicker [R-MS]
#14 231 Sen. Cruz [R-TX]
#14 231 Sen. Young [R-IN]
#16 229 Sen. Cassidy [R-LA]
#17 228 Sen. Burr [R-NC]
#18 225 Sen. Ernst [R-IA]
#19 223 Sen. Crapo [R-ID]
#20 213 Sen. Isakson [R-GA]
#21 211 Sen. Blackburn [R-TN]
#22 202 Sen. Daines [R-MT]
#23 195 Sen. Gardner [R-CO]
#24 188 Sen. Scott [R-SC]
#25 177 Sen. Johnson [R-WI]
#26 162 Sen. Cotton [R-AR]
#27 155 Sen. Boozman [R-AR]
#28 151 Sen. Hoeven [R-ND]
#28 151 Sen. Risch [R-ID]
#30 150 Sen. Moran [R-KS]
#31 140 Sen. Sasse [R-NE]
#32 135 Sen. Kennedy [R-LA]
#33 129 Sen. Sullivan [R-AK]
#34 126 Sen. Lankford [R-OK]
#35 123 Sen. Enzi [R-WY]
#36 120 Sen. Roberts [R-KS]
#36 120 Sen. Tillis [R-NC]
#38 119 Sen. Inhofe [R-OK]
#39 111 Sen. Paul [R-KY]
#40 108 Sen. McSally [R-AZ]
#41 104 Sen. Cramer [R-ND]
#42 93 Sen. Capito [R-WV]
#43 82 Sen. Braun [R-IN]
#44 79 Sen. Alexander [R-TN]
#45 74 Sen. Hawley [R-MO]
#45 74 Sen. Perdue [R-GA]
#47 73 Sen. Hyde-Smith [R-MS]
#48 55 Sen. Rounds [R-SD]
#49 52 Sen. Fischer [R-NE]
#50 44 Sen. McConnell [R-KY]
#51 38 Sen. Scott [R-FL]
#52 29 Sen. Romney [R-UT]
#53 1 Sen. Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.