skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2019.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most cosponsors
#1 984 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 593 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#3 587 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#4 551 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#5 531 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#6 525 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#7 520 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#8 514 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#9 485 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#10 474 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#11 448 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#12 445 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#13 407 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#14 404 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#15 369 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#16 364 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#16 364 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#18 349 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#19 339 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#20 271 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#21 269 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#22 255 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#23 251 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#24 232 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#25 228 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#26 223 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#27 221 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#28 213 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#29 207 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#30 198 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#31 183 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#32 169 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#33 153 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#34 151 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#35 131 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#36 130 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#37 123 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#38 120 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#39 119 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#40 79 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#41 44 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#42 1 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.