skip to main content

2019 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Leadership Score

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2019 legislative year (Jan 3, 2019-Dec 31, 2019), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 18, 2020.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
top leader
#1 1.00 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#2 0.84 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 0.82 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#4 0.78 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#5 0.78 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#6 0.77 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#7 0.77 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#8 0.76 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#9 0.72 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#10 0.71 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#11 0.69 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#12 0.68 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#13 0.67 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#14 0.67 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#15 0.66 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#16 0.64 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#17 0.63 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#18 0.63 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#19 0.61 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#20 0.61 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#21 0.61 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#22 0.59 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#23 0.59 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#24 0.57 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#25 0.57 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#26 0.55 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#27 0.52 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#28 0.50 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#29 0.50 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#30 0.47 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#31 0.44 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#32 0.43 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#33 0.43 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#34 0.40 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#35 0.38 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#36 0.37 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#37 0.37 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#38 0.37 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#39 0.32 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#40 0.30 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#41 0.21 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#42 0.00 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in 2019 is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2019) was the 116th Congress (freshmen) or 115th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.