Table Motion to Reconsider: H RES 177 Providing for further consideration in the Committee of the Whole of H.R. 1868; Foreign Operations Appropriations for FY 1996

House Vote #479 [primary source:]
Jul 11, 1995 (104th Congress)

This was a procedural vote.

Related Resolution:
H.Res. 177 (104th): Providing for the further consideration in the Committee of the Whole of the bill (H.R. 1868) making appropriations for foreign operations, export financing, and related programs for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1996, and for o
Introduced by Rep. Porter Goss [R-FL14, 1993-2004] on June 29, 1995
Totals     Republican     Democrat     Democrat-turned-Republican     Independent     Democrat Farmer Labor
  Aye 235
226 7 2 0 0
  No 167
1 164 0 1 1
Not Voting 32
2 30 0 0 0
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details


Where is the Speaker’s vote?

According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk.

What’s the difference between “aye” and “yea”?

There is no meaningful difference between “aye” and “yea” (and “nay” and “no”), but the terms are used in different sorts of votes based on Congress’s long tradition of parliamentary procedure.

The House and Senate follow the U.S. Constitution strictly when it says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). So they literally say “yea” and “nay” when voting on bills. In the Senate, they always use these words.

The House sometimes operates under a special set of rules called the “Committee of the Whole on the State of the Union” (or “Committee of the Whole” for short), which is a sort of pseudo-committee that is made up of every congressman. During this mode of operation, the House uses the terms “aye” and “no” instead, but the meaning is the same. (See the Rules of the House, Rule XX, and House Practice in the section Voting.)