H.R. 2631 (105th): Disapproval bill

On Overriding the Veto in the House


Feb 5, 1998


House Vote #10
105th Congress





This vote was related to a bill introduced by Rep. Joseph Skeen [R-NM2, 1981-2002] on October 7, 1997, H.R. 2631 (105th): Disapproval bill.

Totals     Republican     Democrat     Independent
  Yea 347
197 149 1
  Nay 69
23 46 0
Not Voting 14
6 8 0
Required: 2/3

Vote Details

Notes: The Speaker’s Vote?
The Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk. (See House Rules, Rule I(7).)
“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.