On Consideration of the Resolution: H RES 219 Providing for the Consideration of H.R. 6, Energy Policy Act of 2005

House Vote #112 [primary source: house.gov]
Apr 20, 2005 (109th Congress)

This was a procedural vote.

Related Resolution:
H.Res. 219 (109th): Providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 6) to ensure jobs for our future with secure, affordable, and reliable energy.
Introduced by Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32] on April 19, 2005
Totals     Republican     Democrat     Independent
  Yea 231
224 7 0
  Nay 193
0 192 1
Not Voting 10
7 3 0
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details


Where is the Speaker’s vote?

According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk.

What’s the difference between “aye” and “yea”?

There is no meaningful difference between “aye” and “yea” (and “nay” and “no”), but the terms are used in different sorts of votes based on Congress’s long tradition of parliamentary procedure.

The House and Senate follow the U.S. Constitution strictly when it says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). So they literally say “yea” and “nay” when voting on bills. In the Senate, they always use these words.

The House sometimes operates under a special set of rules called the “Committee of the Whole on the State of the Union” (or “Committee of the Whole” for short), which is a sort of pseudo-committee that is made up of every congressman. During this mode of operation, the House uses the terms “aye” and “no” instead, but the meaning is the same. (See the Rules of the House, Rule XX, and House Practice in the section Voting.)