On Motion to Instruct Conferees: H R 3093 Departments of Commerce and Justice, and Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations for FY 2008

House Vote #1076 [primary source: house.gov]
Nov 08, 2007 (110th Congress)

This was a procedural vote.

Related Bill:
H.R. 3093 (110th): Departments of Commerce and Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2008
Introduced by Rep. Alan Mollohan [D-WV1, 1983-2010] on July 19, 2007
Totals     Democrat     Republican
  Yea 218
36 182
  Nay 186
182 4
Not Voting 28
14 14
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details


Where is the Speaker’s vote?

According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk.

What’s the difference between “aye” and “yea”?

There is no meaningful difference between “aye” and “yea” (and “nay” and “no”), but the terms are used in different sorts of votes based on Congress’s long tradition of parliamentary procedure.

The House and Senate follow the U.S. Constitution strictly when it says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). So they literally say “yea” and “nay” when voting on bills. In the Senate, they always use these words.

The House sometimes operates under a special set of rules called the “Committee of the Whole on the State of the Union” (or “Committee of the Whole” for short), which is a sort of pseudo-committee that is made up of every congressman. During this mode of operation, the House uses the terms “aye” and “no” instead, but the meaning is the same. (See the Rules of the House, Rule XX, and House Practice in the section Voting.)