On the Motion to Table S.Amdt. 1934 to S. 1639 (No short title on file)


Jun 27, 2007


Senate Vote #234
110th Congress


Motion to Table Failed



Totals     Democrat     Republican     Independent
  Yea 45
16 28 1
  Nay 52
32 19 1
Not Voting 3
2 1 0
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details

Notes: Majority Leader/Majority Whip’s Vote

Sen. Harry Reid (D), the Majority Leader, voted Yea against his party.

Sen. Richard Durbin (D), the Majority Whip, voted Yea against his party.

Somtimes a party leader will vote on the winning side, even if it is against his or her position, to have the right to call for a new vote under a motion to reconsider. For more, see this explanation from The Washington Post.

We do not know the rationale behind any vote, however.

“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.