On the Motion (Motion to Waive Re: DeMint Amdt. No. 158)


Jan 25, 2007


Senate Vote #25
110th Congress


Motion Rejected



This vote was related to a bill introduced by Rep. George Miller [D-CA11, 2013-2014] on January 5, 2007, H.R. 2 (110th): Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007.

Totals     Democrat     Republican     Independent
  Yea 18
0 18 0
  Nay 76
47 27 2
Not Voting 6
3 3 0
Required: 3/5

Vote Details

Notes: Minority Leader’s Vote

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R), the Minority Leader, voted Yea against his party.

Somtimes a party leader will vote on the winning side, even if it is against his or her position, to have the right to call for a new vote under a motion to reconsider. For more, see this explanation from The Washington Post.

We do not know the rationale behind any vote, however.

“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.