Table the Appeal of the Ruling of the Chair: H R 5351 Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation Tax Act of 2008

House Vote #82 [primary source:]
Feb 27, 2008 (110th Congress)

This was a procedural vote.

Related Bill:
H.R. 5351 (110th): Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation Tax Act of 2008
Introduced by Rep. Charles “Charlie” Rangel [D-NY13] on February 12, 2008
Totals     Democrat     Republican
  Yea 222
222 0
  Nay 191
1 190
Not Voting 15
7 8
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details


Where is the Speaker’s vote?

According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk.

What’s the difference between “aye” and “yea”?

There is no meaningful difference between “aye” and “yea” (and “nay” and “no”), but the terms are used in different sorts of votes based on Congress’s long tradition of parliamentary procedure.

The House and Senate follow the U.S. Constitution strictly when it says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). So they literally say “yea” and “nay” when voting on bills. In the Senate, they always use these words.

The House sometimes operates under a special set of rules called the “Committee of the Whole on the State of the Union” (or “Committee of the Whole” for short), which is a sort of pseudo-committee that is made up of every congressman. During this mode of operation, the House uses the terms “aye” and “no” instead, but the meaning is the same. (See the Rules of the House, Rule XX, and House Practice in the section Voting.)