On Motion to Recommit with Instructions: H R 3961 Medicare Physician Payment Reform Act of 2009


Nov 19, 2009


House Vote #908
111th Congress





This vote was related to a bill introduced by Rep. John Dingell [D-MI12, 2013-2014] on October 29, 2009, H.R. 3961 (111th): Medicare Physician Payment Reform Act of 2009.

Totals     Democrat     Republican
  Aye 177
11 166
  No 252
243 9
Not Voting 5
2 3
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details

Notes: The Speaker’s Vote?
The Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk. (See House Rules, Rule I(7).)
“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.