On Motion to Recommit with Instructions: H R 4849 Small Business and Infrastructure Jobs Tax Act


Mar 24, 2010


House Vote #181
111th Congress





This vote was related to a bill introduced by Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9] on March 16, 2010, H.R. 4849 (111th): Small Business and Infrastructure Jobs Tax Act of 2010.

Totals     Democrat     Republican
  Yea 184
10 174
  Nay 239
239 0
Not Voting 6
3 3
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details

Notes: The Speaker’s Vote?
The Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk. (See House Rules, Rule I(7).)
“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.