On Ordering the Previous Question: H RES 778 Providing for consideration of H.J. Res. 117, making continuing appropriations for fiscal year 2013, and for other purposes; H.R. 6365, the National Security and Job Protection Act


Sep 13, 2012


House Vote #572
112th Congress





Totals     Republican     Democrat
  Yea 235
229 6
  Nay 178
2 176
Not Voting 16
8 8
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details

Notes: The Speaker’s Vote?
The Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, except when such vote would be decisive.” In practice, this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes and only does so when it is politically useful. When the Speaker declines to vote, he or she is simply omitted from the roll call by the House Clerk. (See House Rules, Rule I(7).)
“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.