On the Nomination PN925: Jeh Charles Johnson, of New Jersey, to be Secretary of Homeland Security


Dec 16, 2013


Senate Vote #276
113th Congress


Nomination Confirmed



Totals     Democrat     Republican     Independent
  Yea 78
53 23 2
  Nay 16
0 16 0
Not Voting 6
0 6 0
Required: Simple Majority

Vote Details

Notes: Minority Leader/Minority Whip’s Vote

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R), the Minority Leader, voted Nay against his party.

Sen. John Cornyn (R), the Minority Whip, voted Nay against his party.

Somtimes a party leader will vote on the winning side, even if it is against his or her position, to have the right to call for a new vote under a motion to reconsider. For more, see this explanation from The Washington Post.

We do not know the rationale behind any vote, however.

“Aye” or “Yea”?

“Aye” and “Yea” mean the same thing, and so do “No” and “Nay”. Congress uses different words in different sorts of votes.

The U.S. Constitution says that bills should be decided on by the “yeas and nays” (Article I, Section 7). Congress takes this literally and uses “yea” and “nay” when voting on the final passage of bills.

All Senate votes use these words. But the House of Representatives uses “Aye” and “No” in other sorts of votes.